College Spotlight

Steps on Broadway is collaborating with College and University dance programs across the country to bring you an insiders view and chance to dance with their professors.

Getting a feel for a College or University dance program can be hard, and travelling around the country to see each program, even harder. Steps has created these classes so you can get a head start in your college search. This will be an ongoing series with classes in the Spring and Fall each year. It’s never too soon to start your search!

All High School students ages 13 and up are welcome to take sign up for these classes. In these 2-hour programs, experience what a college-level dance class is like from the comfort of your own home then stay for a 30-minute Q&A with members of the admissions team.

By registering for a Steps College Spotlight class, you acknowledge that your contact information will be shared with the university hosting your program.

SCHEDULE (all times EST):

Each two-hour session includes a 90 minute class and a 30 minute Q&A. Registration: $17 per dancer.

Dean College

Thursday, May 6
3:00-5:00pm
Kristina Berger
Modern/Horton

Thursday, May 13
3:00-5:00pm
Todd Shanks
Jazz

Missouri State University

Tuesday, May 4
Azaria Hogans
6:00-8:00pm
Contemporary

Tuesday, May 11
Azaria Hogans
6:00-8:00pm
West African

Drexel University

Friday, May 14
2:30-4:30pm
Jennifer Morley
Modern Dance from Somatic Lens

Friday, May 21
2:30-4:30pm
Sandra Parks
Ballet with 3D Models by Sandra Parks

Rutgers University,
Mason Gross School of the Arts

Sunday, May 16
Barbara Angeline
2:00-4:00pm
Harlem Renaissance Jazz

Loyola Marymount University

Wednesday, May 12
4:00-6:00pm
Laura Smyth
Jazz

Tuesday, June 15
4:00-6:00pm
Rosalynde LeBlanc Loo
Modern/Contemporary

University of Oklahoma

Saturday, May 8
Roxanne Lyst
2:00-4:00pm
Modern Technique

Saturday, May 22
Glenn Edgerton
2:00-4:00pm
Ballet

University of Alabama

Monday, May 10
Lawrence Jackson, Associate Chair
4:00-6:00pm
Modern

Saturday, May 15
Lawrence Jackson, Associate Chair
1:00-3:00pm
Jazz

University of California IRVINE

Thursday, May 20
Tong Wang
4:00-6:00pm
Ballet


Previous College Spotlights